Day 233 Billy Moon – Video Girls

Billy Moon - Video GirlsFor the first time in a long time, I took a good look at all the music in my inbox this morning. One artist that stood straight out was Billy Moon, a Canadian-based duo who play dirty, careless grunge-rock-n-roll. Part of the reason I was so compelled to enjoy their music was the blunt but amusing email they sent my direction. Starting with “Hello Cameron, Billy Moon started in my first year of university when I had a lot of time on my hands and I hated everybody. Our first show we ended up having to play for 3 straight hours. No one liked us.” Apart from their witty and intriguing email (which continued with more funny anecdotes and quotes including the power phrase “Less squats, more rock”, their music was a revelation too. The band have just released their ‘Young Adult’ EP and the title track Video Girls is a trashy slice of blues inspired genius. If you like what you hear, check out the entire EP and maybe even purchase it for real money from their bandcamp page here!

Leave a Reply

