Day 97 Arctic Monkeys – I Wanna Be Yours

Arctic Monkeys - I Wanna Be YoursOn Wednesday, reputable British music magazine NME announced their acclaimed top 50 albums of the year. Perhaps not to many people’s surprise, Arctic Monkeys’ “AM” sat at the very top of that list. Although I covered a number of the album’s tracks pre-release, I haven’t actually reflected on any of its songs after it dropped in September, so today I thought I would share the album’s haunting finale, I Wanna Be Yours. Full of references to Alex Turner’s idol, British realist poet, John Cooper Clark, I Wanna Be Yours is a spooky, laid-back track that rests lethargically on a smoky, almost Western sounding vibe. I absolutely love the songs lyrics; “I wanna be your vacuum cleaner / Breathing in your dust / I wanna be your Ford Cortina / I will never rust / If you like your coffee hot / Let me be your coffee pot / You call the shots babe / I just wanna be yours.” Alex Turner, you genius.

Download Artist – Amazon Itunes

Leave a Reply

